10 months (LDR)

Today marks my 10 month “anniversary” with TY. And I know some of you might think: ‘so what? It’s only ten months.’ But let me explain… I’ve never actually been with someone before TY. I’ve dated some guys before him, tried to date guys and also crushed over one pretty badly before, but never have I ever been with someone for real. The longest time I’ve dated a guy, was two months. (A story about my dating experiences might be up some day on my blog here.)
For me, ten months is a long time. Especially considering the fact that it’s no longer just dating someone but actually being with someone. You probably all have heard of the quote: one day you’ll find someone and you’ll understand why it never worked out with anyone else before, or something like that. That’s how I feel with TY.

Sure, we haven’t reached a year yet, but in two months we will. During this time I also realize how different a LDR is. Of course we already knew this, but when you really stop and think about it, it’s so weird. You don’t feel like 10 months or 12 months or two years have gone by already, because all we do in a LDR is count down the time until we get to be with our partner again. Saving up money, working to achieve that, and so on and so forth. Though I hate to admit it, because I’m always the one saying time goes by really slowly, I’ll have to be honest and say that in this particular case: time really did fly by. I can still vividly remember the first time he hugged me and how it made me feel. And here we are, ten months later and we are talking couple outfits, jewelry, our futures, seeing each other again and what we will do when together again.

I also look back and consider the fact that we both have opened up more towards each other. Which should be a given at some point in your relationship but TY has never been one to be an all open book, for everyone to read. As a matter of fact, he’s quite a closed off person. And that’s fine. Since the very beginning. I’ve never once pushed him to tell me something. If he wanted to share things with me, I’d let him but if not then I’d let it be as well. I’ve always given him that space. Though I’m happy to say he feels more and more comfortable with telling me more personal things about him and his life. Which I love of course, because I am not just dating him, I’m also a part of his life even if he wouldn’t want me to be(joking) ;P

I love the openness we have with each other now, the sharing of feelings and emotions. The telling each other about ourselves. It’s not going at an ultra fast pace, however I like the pace we are taking. Not exposing ourselves all at once but sharing a bit more with each other every now and again. Ten months have flown by, but I am eager to go for many many maaaaaany more months πŸ˜‰ as I’m sure he is too.
Oh, and also, great app if you haven’t heard of it yet: “Love Widget”. No, not sponsored but just for everyone in an LDR, it tells you exactly how many days and months you’ve been together. It also counts down all important dates. Like a one year, a 1000 days. It goes up to 27 years if I’m correct. Sort of like a love D-Day countdown clock thingymajigger πŸ™‚ Β Β Just on a random note ❀
Up to a one year anniversary, everyone!

8 thoughts on “10 months (LDR)

  1. Congrats!
    I’m actually a couple of months of reaching 10 months as well! πŸ˜πŸ™‹
    I think the same as you, 10 months it’s not the number we fish for ☺

Leave a Reply

