8 things people have said to me(LDR)

image.jpeg

I know I touched on some of these in an older post of mine but damn, the things I’ve heard just keep getting “better and better”. Now before I start, I want to say I don’t hate the people who say these things to me. It just gets annoying after hearing it a lot. Most of the people who have said this to me are either; coworkers of mine, or family and acquaintances.

Once again, no hate just letting off some steam 😉 and if you are in an LDR you might get these at one point in time so feel free to relate to them if you want to haha.

#1 : Do you trust him? – my answer to this is always without a doubt yes. If they ask me why, I simply ask them, since most of these people are with someone as well: do you trust your partner and if so, why do you trust them? When the relationship is right, you don’t have to worry about your partner.

#2 : Don’t you think he’s going out with other girls? – I know this is kind of the same as the previous question but it’s a question I always get. And the answer to this is: no I don’t.  If he has any female friends, he can have them. I’m not going to be a crazy girlfriend because I have no reason to be. I know him and I trust him.

#3 : How come you don’t just pick someone from your own country? Isn’t that much easier? – easier, yes. Ask me if that’s something I want, then no. I have tried to date Dutch men and it didn’t work out for me. I knew at a very young age that I wasn’t somehow attracted to them. What the reason behind this is exactly, I don’t know. But I do know that I’d much rather wait two years and then fly 16 hours to see him , rather than be with someone very close to me whom I feel nothing for.

#4 : You’re just with an Asian guy to be “different” and to stand out  – yes I’ve really heard this before, guys. So, just because I am a white, Dutch person I don’t get to fall for someone like my boyfriend? Everybody has a preference. I didn’t think I ever had one until I met TY and felt things I’ve never felt for anybody. So no, this white Dutch girl isn’t just with him because I want to be different.

#5 : So you’re dating a Chinese/Japanese/Korean guy? – Ahhhh okay this one, upsets me the most. I get it, I get it. When I was a little girl I didn’t see any difference but that was because I didn’t know any better. But come on, you’re an adult. Surely you can tell who is Chinese, Taiwanese, Japanese or whichever by now. And you know what? I could understand if it was a one time thing. However most of the time I explain to these people that Taiwanese aren’t Chinese people, they say the same thing the next time. You’re being really ignorant now.

#6 : The ‘good’ old racist jokes about the language. I’m not even going there.

#7 : The jokes about his last name. I swear to god… If I hear it one more time. I’m going to flip. @@

#8 : There’s no future in this relationship – well, you know what? I will be the judge of this   There’s always a future in something, if you work hard towards it. Together. I do see a future together with him. It might take a long time before we are there, but I am more than happy to wait for as long as it takes until I can finally be with my one and only.

All in all though guys, in the end it doesn’t even matter what people say to be fair. Sure it gets to me sometimes what people have to say about my relationship but in the end it will be my life and my choices. If I am happy and he is happy, then all is well for me and I’ve nothing to worry about. People will always have something to say about you and the life you’re living, the choices you’re making and the paths you’re taking. There’s always something wrong with what you do because everyone’s living their lives differently. If I were to have a relationship with someone from my own country, people would comment on that as well. They’d have something nasty or annoying to say about that. What matters is you and your partner. If you truly feel like you are happy and that you’re the happiest you’ve ever been, then who are people to say things about it? Don’t let anybody ever tell you otherwise. Do it for you. Do it for your partner. Be happy together. Show people that you can survive this, get through this and start a life together. No matter how long it takes. TY and I have a saying, it developed early on, when we were still just friends: Always stay positive. Even when it looks like nothing is going right, always try to see the positive things in life. Make it positive. It’s okay to sometimes not be fine and be a bit upset but drag yourself through it and move on, find that light again. Make it shine ❤️

Goodnight guys 🙂

6 thoughts on “8 things people have said to me(LDR)

  1. Oh my god #3, Geez I been asked that SOOOO many times, some people just don’t understand how someone so far away can touch our hearts so well.

Leave a Reply

